We have 98 guests online
22 Dec 2001 DMW Halesowen Town 0-1 Chippenham Town PDF Print E-mail

Dr Martens Western Division - Saturday, 22nd December, 2001

Halesowen Town 0 Chippenham Town 1

League leaders Halesowen disappointed a bumper crowd with their inability to turn possession into goals and paid the price when their main promotion rivals hit them on the break to steal three points.

Early chances were few and far between as both sides slowly came to terms with a rock hard playing surface. Halesowen gradually gained the upper hand and enjoyed a purple patch before half-time but were kept at bay by the brilliance of Chippenham goalkeeper Steve Weaver and their own failings in front of goal.

Andy Spencer cleverly flicked the ball past the final defender before volleying high in the 32nd minute and seconds later Stuart Skidmore sent in a screaming 35-yard shot that Weaver saved athletically just under the crossbar. With the visitors pinned back, Leroy May met a 34th minute cross from Jason Burnham but his header was blocked on the line. From the resulting corner May headed against the crossbar and in the ensuing goalmouth scramble Neil Smith blasted well over from 8 yards out. Just before the break Matty Hall hit the side netting after good work from May and Spencer and in a rare counter-attack Chippenham’s Matt Rawlins saw his 44th minute shot turned away in a crowded home goalmouth.

Weaver had to be alert two minutes into the second half to claw away a shot from Hall which bounced awkwardly off the frozen pitch as Halesowen continued to play a neat passing game with Chippenham content to play for the draw.

Disaster struck for Halesowen in the 70th minute when the visitors grabbed an unlikely winner after May allowed Nathan Rudge to head back across goal from a wide angle and hitman Rawlins had the simple task of beating Clarke from five yards out. Chippenham held onto their important winner although Weaver had to make a great save to deny Gary Smith three minutes from time.

Halesowen Town: Clarke; Colwell, Burnham, N. Smith, L. Collins, S. Skidmore (G. Smith 77), Spencer, Hall, May, Taylor, R. Collins (Hines 64). Sub: Newall

Chippenham Town: Weaver; Vickerman, Dicks, Andrews, Rudge, Woods, Brown (Mings 89), Charity, Tweddle, Rawlins, Bent (R. Skidmore 90). Sub: Bright

Referee: S. Bratt (Walsall)

Attendance: 912 

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack