We have 34 guests online
27 Jul 2001 FRD Halesowen Town 0-0 West Bromwich Albion PDF Print E-mail

Friendly - Saturday 27th July, 2001

Halesowen Town 0 West Bromwich Albion 0

Halesowen made the early running against a stronger than expected Baggies line-up and Neil Smith headed a Les Hines cross into the arms of Brian Jensen in the 11th minute. Jensen then raced off his line to beat Kerry Giddings to the ball after a clever flick from youngster Andy Spencer.

The Yeltz missed a glorious chance to take the lead on the hour when skipper Lee Collins touched the ball to Andy Jones but he blasted his chance high from close range.

Albion were forced to work hard but won the game in the 65th minute as Jordao calmly slotted a left wing pass beyond Jason Piearcy with Halesowen exposed for the first time.

The Yeltz pushed hard for a late goal and substitute Ricky Otto hit the bar from Andy Spencer's looping cross in the 70th minute. Lee Knight then brought a fingertip save out of substitute goalkeeper Chris Adamson and Adamson was kept busy with two curling efforts on target from Ricky Otto and a drive from Alfie Carter.

Halesowen Town: Piearcy; Skidmore, Burnham, Smith, Barnett, L. Collins, Hall, Spencer, Giddings, Jones, Hines. Subs: Knight, Bailey, Colwell, Shaw, Otto, Crawford, Carter, Donaldson, Garvey.

West Bromwich Albion: Jensen; Lytlle, Quinn, Jordao, Butler, J. Chambers, A. Chambers, Oliver, Taylor, Dobie, Adams. Subs: Turner, Adamson, M. Collins, Scott, Briggs.

Referee: R Smith (Hasbury)

Attendance: 700 (estimated)

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack