We have 43 guests online
22 Apr 2006 SLP Halesowen Town 1-1 Bedford Town PDF Print E-mail

Southern League Premier Division – Saturday, 22nd April 2006

Halesowen Town 1 Bedford Town 1

Simon Forsdick was named as the Halesowen Town Player of the Season 2005-06 prior to the kick-off but the final home league game of the season ended with another draw against a Bedford outfit who had already confirmed their play-off place.

Bedford’s young reserve goalkeeper Jordan Rigby had an uneasy afternoon and was fortunate to escape in the 4th minute when the ball bounced off Forsdick in the six-yard box into his arms.

Halesowen goalkeeper Dean Coleman then saved low down after Rene Howe teased his way through the home defence in the 6th minute and a minute later saved well from the same player with Niki Preston tidying up the loose ball. Gary Knight’s 14th minute header caught Coleman on the wrong foot but he recovered to make a good reflex save.

Preston’s 15th minute header was cleared off the line by Bedford’s Matt Childs before a display of over-zealous stewarding saw Keith Carradine attempt to run off with the match-ball.

The Yeltz took the lead on the half-hour when Howard FORINTON was first to the ball to head deftly over hesitant Rigby into the net for his 15th goal of the season. But the Eagles equalised just four minutes later when Coleman failed to claim a cross from Carl Williams and HOWE’s effort just crossed the line despite Dave Haywood’s attempt to clear. Just before the interval Chris Dillon blazed over the Halesowen bar and at the other end Rigby escaped again after losing a right-wing cross.

Halesowen enjoyed the better of play at the start of the second-half with James Francis surging forward in the 47th minute only to be fouled on the edge of the penalty area. Haywood’s resulting free-kick rebounded to Forinton, but Rigby made a fine save to smother the ball on the line in a crowd of players. Rigby dropped another corner from Nick Smith in the 53rd minute but on the hour Rigby collected when Forsdick headed on a Nick Smith’s free-kick.

Coleman made a super reflex save to deny substitute Ian Draycott’s 69th minute shot on the turn in his first touch but the game petered out in the latter stages with Draycott firing wide again in injury time.

Halesowen Town: Coleman; Pierpoint, Haywood, Preston, Knight, Skidmore (Cooper 76), N. Smith, Francis (Myers 88), Forinton, Amos, Forsdick. Unused Subs: C. Smith, Thompson, Johnson.

Bedford Town: Rigby; Childs, Hoyte, Lawley, Howarth, Bonner (Ford 88), Williams, Stupple, Dillon (Draycott 67), Howe, Rydeheard (James 67). Unused Subs: None.

Referee: S. J. Rushden (Stoke-on-Trent)

Attendance: 355

Booked: Pierpoint (44), Skidmore (53), Rydeheard (53), Dillon (63).

Sponsors Man of the Match: Nick Smith

NLP Man of the Match: Nick Amos

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack