We have 116 guests online
07 Nov 2006 FAT2QRR Clitheroe 1-0 Halesowen Town PDF Print E-mail

FA Trophy 2nd Qualifying Round Replay – Tuesday, 7th November 2006

Clitheroe 1 Halesowen Town 0

Halesowen missed the chance of an attractive next round tie with Conference North Kettering after being dumped out of the FA Trophy by Unibond Division One Clitheroe in another disappointing display.

The Yeltz arrived at Shawbridge to play in unusual red and white striped shirts as Clitheroe’s half-blue and half-white shirts clashed with both the normal Yeltz home and away kit. Simon Forsdick acted as captain for the evening with Lee Williams suffering from a dead leg. Clitheroe were missing Saturday’s goal-scorer James Dean through suspension and Simon Garner through injury.

Neither goalkeeper was seriously tested in an even first period. On 18 minutes Owen Roberts struck a free-kick over the Halesowen bar from outside the area before the visitors won several set pieces without taking any advantage. Five minutes before the interval Forsdick’s goal-bound shot was deflected away for a corner.

A similar pattern of just half-chances continued after the break with Alex Cowley’s 52nd minute shot blocked by Roberts. A long distance shot from Roberts was then deflected for a corner at the other end. Will Exton was put clear on the Yeltz goal by Jeff Underwood in the 75th minute but was blocked by goalkeeper Danny Woodhall.

Clitheroe grabbed the winner in the 79th minute when a through ball to Craig Sargeson was intercepted but the ball fell for Darrell AVERY in space to hit a 25-yard daisy-cutter beyond Woodhall.

The introduction of Halesowen substitute Lee Williams allowed more incisive passing in midfield and Dave Haywood and Forsdick caused some trouble down the left, but Clitheroe were able to weather the final few minutes to confirm their place in the next round.

Halesowen Town: Woodhall; Warner, Haywood, Pierpoint, Knight, Cooper (Francis), Cowley (Williams), Dowdall, Brindley, Beckett, Forsdick. Unused Subs: Preston, Gayle

Clitheroe: Horridge; Underwood, Roberts, Daniels, Anderson, Matthews, Nay (Johnson), Avery, Sargeson, Exton (Dempsey), Jones. Unused Sub: Fearon.

Referee: A. J. Scregg (Liverpool)

Attendance: 229
Booked: Exton

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack