We have 65 guests online
04 Dec 2007 SLP Bedford Town 0-3 Halesowen Town PDF Print E-mail

British Gas Business Football League Premier Division – Tuesday, 4th December 2007

Bedford Town 0 Halesowen Town 3

Halesowen moved up to fifth place in the table with an encouraging and comprehensive away victory after being called in for extra training on Monday evening in Northampton.

Although Bedford started reasonably well, the visitors soon raced into an early two-goal lead. Dean Brennan’s centrally placed free-kick from 20-yards rebounded invitingly off the Bedford defensive wall for Zema ABBEY to beat goalkeeper Andrew Stevens and give Halesowen a 7th minute lead.

The Yeltz made it into an electrifying start with a second goal on 14 minutes when the usually reliable Ben Farrell lost the ball on the edge of his own penalty area and although Abbey’s shot was blocked, he slotted the ball through for Eldon MAQUEMBA to make a good finish beyond Stevens from the right.

Chances for Bedford were rare although Stuart Sinclair hit a long range shot just off target on 10 minutes and then produced a 34th minute overhead kick. For Halesowen, Abbey headed just over the bar and Maquemba struck wide after a good run in a first period littered with over 20 free-kicks awarded by the young replacement referee.

The second half carried on much as the first with Bedford creating little as Halesowen shut the game down well in midfield. It took the Eagles until the 69th minute to force their first corner and the few crosses they could deliver were easily dealt with by dominant Stuart Pierpoint allowing goalkeeper Mark Osborn the luxury of an easy evening.

The Yeltz increased the lead in the 76th minute when a left-wing cross found Shane PAUL with his back to goal and he turned well to fire home into the far corner. Late on, new signing Francino Francis was handed his debut as a replacement for Maquemba.

Bedford Town: Stevens; Miller, Lawley, Grieve, Gentle, Farrell, Woolf, Stupple, Phillips, Lyon (Draycott 66), Sinclair (Hatch 77). Unused Subs: Brown, Knight, Amaegbe.

Halesowen Town: Osborn; Lycett, Perpetuini, Pearce, Pierpoint, Denny, Paul, Brennan, Abbey, Maquemba (F.Francis 86), Quistin (Hamilton 75). Unused Subs: Wiggins-Thomas, A. Francis, N. Waite.

Referee: A. Coggins (Bicester)

Attendance: 301

Booked: Perpetuini, Brennan, Abbey, Farrell, Stupple.  

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack