We have 28 guests online
16 Jul 2008 FRD Halesowen Town 3-4 Stafford Rangers PDF Print E-mail

Pre-season Friendly – Wednesday, 16th July 2008

Halesowen Town 3 Stafford Rangers 4

Defensive duo and fans’ favourites Stuart Pierpoint and Nick Amos made a swift return to the Grove after their switch from Halesowen to Stafford over the Summer but it was last season’s leading scorer Dean BRENNAN who put the Yeltz ahead from close range after 11 minutes.

Halesowen’s new defence was then cruelly exposed as Stafford hit three goals in 12 minutes to take a 3-1 lead. The back-line stood still on 20 minutes as David McNIVEN met Pierpoint’s punt into the penalty area and his shot trickled past goalkeeper Nathan Vaughan.

Static defending from Alex Gibson’s 26th minute corner then allowed Pierpoint to head back for Nick WELLECOME to head home from close range and the home defence was found wanting yet again in the 32nd minute when Bobby WILSON headed home through Vaughan’s hands from another corner.

Alex Cowley sprayed a long ball for Mark DANKS to put Halesowen back in the game with a fine half-volley beyond goalkeeper Danny Alcock after 40 minutes and impressive DANKS then equalised with a spectacular scissor-kick from the edge of the area three minutes later to make it 3-3.

After the interval Danks headed just over the bar in the 50th minute before Nathan’s nightmare continued as Stafford snatched the winner on the hour. GIBSON floated a deep cross from the right into the area and the ball sailed into the net after unconvincing Vaughan flapped and tangled with his own defender Dean Smith as substitute Linden Dovey rose for the ball.

Late on, visiting substitute Andre Francis blasted high after Vaughan missed another ball and Halesowen substitute Jermaine Palmer struck the Stafford crossbar.

Halesowen Town: Vaughan; Smith, Cowley, Dean, Bryant, Denny, Danks, Caskey, Rowe, Brennan, Cornwall. Subs: Manchester, Abraham, Hamilton, Waite, J. Palmer.

Stafford Rangers: Alcock; Gibson, Hines, Pierpoint, Daniel, Amos, Wilson, C. Palmer, Wellecome, McNiven, McPherson. Subs: Dovey, McMahon, Ingram, Loukes, Francis, Allan.

Referee: A. Hendley

Attendance: 256

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack