We have 40 guests online
02 Aug 2011 FRD Halesowen Town 1-1 Evesham United PDF Print E-mail

Pre-season Friendly – Tuesday, 2nd August 2011

Halesowen Town 1 Evesham United 1

Halesowen’s well earned first half lead was eventually pegged back by Premier Division Evesham in another competitive pre-season workout.


In early Yeltz pressure, Lee Chilton did well to fire across the face of goal in the 8th minute and Evesham goalkeeper Lewis Skyers was alert to pluck the ball from under his crossbar a minute later.

Halesowen’s eager start brought a deserved goal after 23 minutes when imposing centre forward Nathan Jackson troubled Skyers in the Evesham goal and Naveed ARSHAD followed up to convert the rebound from 12 yards. The Yeltz defence stood solid to clear several corners in the first period, but with Halesowen still enjoying the better of play, another goalbound shot was dramatically cleared off the Evesham line in the 28th minute. Jackson then set up full-back Aaron Lescott in the 35th minute but Skyers raced out of goal to block. Four minutes before the interval a fine 25 yard shot from Jackson brought another excellent save from Skyers under the bar.

The second half continued at a high tempo and a melee involving several players ensued at the start of the half before former Yeltz midfielder Michael McGrath struck just wide in the 66th minute for the visitors. The Robins equalised from the following corner in the 67th minute with a header from Andy JONES creeping into the net off the underside of the crossbar.

Halesowen upped their game once again with a string of late attempts. An 80th minute corner was headed on for Mark Smith but his close range header was turned behind for a second corner. An excellent exchange of passes then saw Chilton blast across the face of goal and another 87th minute corner was cleared.

Halesowen Town: Paul Evans; Aaron Lescott, Nathaniel Caines, Peter Folkes, Mark Smith, Anthony Bruce (Sam Wills 74), Andrew Westwood (Craig Connor 61), Gavin Saunders (c), Nathan Jackson, Naveed Arshad (Justin Nisbett 56), Lee Chilton. Unused Subs: Keenan Meakin-Richards, Chris Godwin, Jem Mills, Rory Curtis, Adam Robinson, Alex Roofe.

Unavailable/Injured: Scott Mason, Brendan Kelly, Nathan Smith, Nathan Coward, Andre Hinds, Marlon Walters.

Attendance: 170

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack