We have 93 guests online
06 Aug 2011 FRD Redditch United 3-0 Halesowen Town PDF Print E-mail

Pre-season Friendly – Saturday, 6th August 2011

Redditch United 3 Halesowen Town 0

Halesowen slipped to a disappointing three goal defeat in the final pre-season friendly at recently relegated Redditch.  The Reds featured a former Halesowen trio of Dean Coleman, David Blenkinsopp and Lee Osborne amongst their ranks as the in-form hosts made it an impressive ten wins out of ten pre-season games.


The home side took the lead in the 23rd minute when Phil Green found Aaron Moses-Garvey on the opposite wing and he in turn played the ball in for Cameron JONES to pick his spot and convert into the top right hand corner of the net. Yeltz goalkeeper Paul Evans then did well to pick out the ball from the top corner after Peter Folkes diverted another Redditch effort after 32 minutes.

GREEN added a second goal after 33 minutes by side-stepping his marker to hit a cracking drive from 20 yards beyond goalkeeper Evans. Before the interval Anthony Bruce struck a 22 yard shot at home goalkeeper Coleman and both Simon Fitter and Marlon Walters received yellow cards –Walters for fouling Fitter and then showing dissent by kicking the ball at Fitter on the ground leading to a melee of pushing and arguing players.

Late on in the second half, Evans saved low down after home substitute Osborne blasted towards goal from 15 yards and fellow substitute Lei Brown curled a free-kick just wide. In the 90th minute Redditch defended a corner and Coleman saved well to keep out a free-kick from Yeltz substitute Sam Wills.

Redditch made it 3-0 in the first minute of injury time when BROWN stroked home from the penalty spot after a cross from Joe Harris bounced up to strike the arm of substitute Ben Love.

Redditch United: Dean Coleman; Nick Heath, Craig Milligan (c), Michael Nottingham, Tesfa Robinson, Ryan Howell, Simon Fitter, Cameron Jones, David Blenkinsopp, Phil Green, Aaron Moses-Garvey. Subs: Lei Brown, Tom Warmer, Joe Adams, Lee Osborne, Joe Harris, Dan Miley, Alex Hickman, Luke Keen, Brad Bullimore, Jake Bedford (GK).

Halesowen Town: Paul Evans; Craig Connor, Adam Robinson, Peter Folkes, Mark Smith, Marlon Walters, Anthony Bruce, Gavin Saunders (c), Justin Nisbett, Naveed Arshad, Andrew Westwood. Subs: Sam Wills, Rory Curtis, Brendan Kelly, Nathan Coward, Ben Love, Alex Roofe, Jean Michel.

Attendance: 206


Joomla Templates by Joomlashack