We have 45 guests online
24 Mar 2012 SLSW Poole Town 1-0 Halesowen Town PDF Print E-mail

Evo-Stik League Southern Division One South and West – Saturday, 24th March 2012

Poole Town 1 Halesowen Town 0

Yeltz boss Shaun Cunnington was left fuming after ten-man Halesowen were denied a point at Poole Town thanks to a controversial late penalty.  Halesowen had looked worth a point after holding the promotion chasing Dolphins following Richard Huckfield’s dismissal on the stroke of half time, but referee Robert Abrams adjudged that substuitute Jean-Michel Gueyes had fouled Carl Preston with three minutes to go, though there appeared to be little contact.

Nathan Jones Attack

Steve Devlin slammed home the spot kick with Cunnington sent to the stand by Abrams following comments overheard by the assistant referee.

Poole had the better of the opening half and started to create openings after a slow start – Devlin’s free kick was punched clear by Yeltz ‘keeper Paul Evans on 20 minutes, who also snuffed out danger at the feet of Preston and Steve Richardson.

Poole Town Attack

Andrew Westwood cleared a Michael Walker header off the line and Richardson’s close range effort bobbled off the post with Cunnngton’s men soaking up plenty of pressure before the interval.

Just before the break came the first flashpoint when Huckfield went into an aerial challenge with Marvin Brooks, catching him with a flailing arm and was instantly dismissed.

Despite their numerical disadvantage, Halesowen had the best two chances of the second half, but Ben Haseley mistimed a header at the far post and skewed horribly wide when clean through on 55 minutes.

Gavin Saunders Strike

From here, the pressure gradually grew and Poole got their breakthrough, which was tough on the Yeltz who will look back on some controversial refereeing decisions that ultimately proved costly in a tight game.

Poole Town: Hutchings, Tallack, Spetch, Emmerson, Walker, Howes (S. Smith), Brooks, Devlin, Richardson (Joyce), Preston, Cann (Baldacchino)

Halesowen Town: Evans, Westwood, Kelly (c), Smith, Huckfield, Saunders, M Jackson, N Jackson, Jones (Cotterill 64, Gueyes 82), Haseley, Caines.  Unused subs: Flower, Hill.

Referee: Mr R Abrams. 

Sent-Off: Huckfield (45)

Attendance: 426

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack