We have 84 guests online
04 Oct 2016 FAC3QRR Nantwich Town 2-1 Halesowen Town PDF Print E-mail
FA Cup 3rd Qualifying Round Replay - Tuesday, 4th October 2016
Nantwich Town 2 Halesowen Town 1
Halesowen missed out on an enticing and lucrative FA Cup 4th Qualifying Round home tie against local rivals Stourbridge after Nantwich notched two first-half goals to record their first home win of the season, writes David Johnson.
Yeltz goalkeeper Dan Platt had a busy first period and he palmed away a 13th minute shot from Ibou Touray. A minute later Nantwich were awarded a penalty but Platt made a splendid save to keep out Sean Cooke's spot-kick and Platt then plucked out a 24th minute shot from Matt Bell.
Halesowen rarely threatened during the first half and Nantwich finally broke the deadlock after 39 minutes when Cooke exchanged passes with Touray and COOKE advanced into the penalty area to slot past Platt. Worse soon followed for Halesowen as the Dabbers doubled the lead in the final minute of the first half with a superb 30 yard thunderbolt into the top corner from captain Sam HALL.
Halesowen came out brighter after the interval and Kaiman Anderson fired just wide after 49 minutes before home substitute Josh Hancock curled a 55th minute effort wide for the Dabbers.The visitors wasted a 65th minute free-kick after goalkeeper Dave Parton handled outside his area and substitute Ethan Delaney almost nipped in between the home defence in the 71st minute.
Leading striker ANDERSON pulled a goal back for Halesowen after 72 minutes with a skilful flick converting Danny Bragoli's cross to set up a tense ending. But the Dabbers held on, although Jordan Goddard's effort was agonisingly wide in the fifth minute of injury time.

Nantwich Town: Dave Parton; Andy White, Ibou Touray, Curt Jones, Ben Harrison, Matt Bell, Wayne Riley, Sam Hall (c), Ryan Brooke (Osebi Abadaki 83), Sean Cooke (Tim Sanders 69), Theo Stair (Josh Hancock HT). Subs Not Used: Reece Quinn, Dave Walker, Danny Griggs.
Halesowen Town: Dan Platt; Kyle Haynes (Kyle Morrison 80), James Hancocks, Jay Denny (c), Richard Sho-Silva, Asa Charlton, Malcolm Melvin, Daniel Bragoli, Kaiman Anderson, Jordan Goddard, George Cleet (Ethan Delaney 60). Subs Not Used: Aaron Griffiths, Joe Colley.
Referee: A. Bannister
Attendance: 362
Booked: Charlton (51), Brooke (54), Cooke (58), Parton (64), Sho-Silva (66)
Joomla Templates by Joomlashack